News, Press Releases

V20 Finance Ministers, Boston University, and SOAS University of London Collaborate on Climate Prosperity Fellowship Programme

V20 Finance Ministers, Boston University, and SOAS University of London Collaborate on Climate Prosperity Fellowship Programme



Marrakech, 13 October 2023 – The V20 Finance Ministers, in partnership with Boston University Global Development Policy Center and the Centre for Sustainable Finance at SOAS University of London, today launched the “Climate Prosperity Fellowship” programme. This initiative aims to advance cooperation and engagement of officials from V20 member countries to address the challenges posed by out-of-date global financial architecture and towards ambitious development-positive climate action through Climate Prosperity Plans (CPPs).

The V20 “Climate Prosperity Fellowship” programme is a significant step towards promoting coordination and accelerated support for climate-vulnerable nations. It will equip fellows with the latest research and analytics needed to develop and implement CPPs while fostering collaboration on vital climate finance and sustainable development solutions. The programme is aligned with the Accra-Marrakech Agenda and focuses on its four key pillars: (1) Make Debt Work for the Climate; (2) Transform the International and Development Financial System; (3) A New Global Deal on Carbon Financing; and (4) Revolutionize Risk Management for our Climate Insecure World Economy.

Fellows from Ghana, Bangladesh, The Gambia, Maldives, and Fiji in the Annual Meeting grounds

The collaboration between V20 Finance Ministers, Boston University Global Development Policy Center, and SOAS University of London will enable participants to contribute to global strategies aimed at combating climate change and promoting development-positive climate action.

During the 2023-2024 period, more than 32 V20 member countries have expressed interest in developing and implementing ambitious national CPPs. To support this initiative, a fellowship programme has been established, consisting of 15 mid- to senior-level finance officials from 13 V20 member countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Eswatini, Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana,  Haiti, Honduras, Kenya,  Maldives, Philippines, Rwanda, and Tonga. This programme seeks to accelerate capacity to secure financing for CPPs and fast-tracking their implementation.

For further information, please contact:

[email protected] ,

Nabiha Shahab, +62 813 1421 3432

Denise Fontanilla, +63 917 851 4890

About the V20:

Ghana is the current Chair of the Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF) and V20 Finance Ministers. The V20 Finance Ministers is a dedicated cooperation initiative of economies systematically vulnerable to climate change. The CVF/V20 comprises 68 countries, representing 1.74 billion people and USD 3.8 trillion in GDP. Members of the V20 are:

Africa & Middle East

Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana (Chair), Guinea, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Palestine**, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Yemen.

**As a UN non-member observer state.


Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Fiji, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Latin America & Caribbean

Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haïti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago.